Fiat Twin Cam Timing Belt

Common upgrades - A-Series mods, brakes,wheels, handling, interior.

Fiat Twin Cam Timing Belt

Postby Jefftav » Sun Nov 01, 2015 9:14 pm

The engine does run although it is always difficult to start and a bit rough at idle. However I can see that the timing belt on my twin cam engine seems to be 1 tooth out on the exhaust cam wheel. When I replace the belt should I re-set it to the timing mark on the cam box or will it have been moved for a reason?

Any advice is appreciatted :D
User avatar
Jefftav
.
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:11 am
Location: Inverness


Re: Fiat Twin Cam Timing Belt

Postby et_in_black » Sun Nov 01, 2015 9:40 pm

As you know I also have a Fiat Twin-Cam (just a standard 2-litre running in "stock" form). Last time I had mine apart and put it all back together I lined up all the timing marks in the correct places. I'm no expert, but I can't imagine why you would want it to be deliberately 1 tooth out. So if it was me I would reset it to the correct mark.
But maybe someone with more experience than me might have a better opinion?
Ed.
User avatar
et_in_black
.
 
Posts: 98
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:55 pm
Location: Oxford
Awards: 1
Contributions 2013 (1)

United Kingdom (uk)

Re: Fiat Twin Cam Timing Belt

Postby plastic orange » Sun Nov 01, 2015 11:50 pm

When I changed a belt on a 2 litre TC I noticed it was 1 tooth out and just assumed that it had been fitted wrongly. The new belt I fitted to the correct marks and all was fine. Engine was definitely smoother though.

PO
Undefeated best Orange Hawaiian award Pateley Bridge 5 years in a row.
User avatar
plastic orange
.
 
Posts: 4979
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 7:38 pm
Location: Broughty Ferry, Scotland
Awards: 8
Contributions 2011 (1) Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1) Contributions 2014 (1) Contributions 2015 (1)
Contributions 2016 (1) Contributions 2017 (1) Members Choice Award (1)

Scotland (sf) UK Scotland (.j)

Re: Fiat Twin Cam Timing Belt

Postby cmea » Mon Nov 02, 2015 6:06 pm

yes, mine was one tooth out and was a pain to start, putting back to correct marks made it run better. I think they can easily be made to jump a tooth when fitting.
Image
User avatar
cmea
.
 
Posts: 769
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Gosport, Hampshire
Awards: 3
Contributions 2011 (1) Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1)


Re: Fiat Twin Cam Timing Belt

Postby Jefftav » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:17 pm

Thanks folks this backs up what I thought.
User avatar
Jefftav
.
 
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 9:11 am
Location: Inverness



Return to Mild Modifications



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest