"Soft" brake linings

Rebuilding, adjusting, maintaining & alternatives

"Soft" brake linings

Postby Ed1949 » Mon Apr 02, 2018 11:32 am

Just bought myself a 1968 saloon as a retirement present. I owned a sequence of Minors in the sixties & seventies ranging from a 1949 918cc MM onwards, so I have some experience with these cars. My "new" car had new drums & linings fitted by the previous owner. Braking performance is disappointing (I know - it was never exactly stunning!) and needs great effort, definitely inferior even to the early MM. Brakes are well-balanced, no pulling to one side. I suspect hard brake linings. Does anyone have experience of specifying soft linings to provide more bite? And where to obtain them?
Thanks.
Ed1949
New Poster

United Kingdom (uk) UK Wales (.l)

Re: "Soft" brake linings

Postby woodywoodchipper » Mon Apr 02, 2018 3:21 pm

try roughing yours up with emery cloth, they have probably got glazed up, if this don't work change them, use Ferodo, not cheap chinese copies,

When its done its done (for now)
Derv Turbo Power (Joosed)
woodywoodchipper

Awards: 7
Contributions 2011 (1) Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1) Contributions 2015 (1) Contributions 2016 (1)
Contributions 2017 (1) Contributions 2018 (1)

United Kingdom (uk) UK Lancashire (lk)

Postby Plin » Mon Apr 02, 2018 4:05 pm

:D Sorry no help on your brake issue - but welcome to the forum!
Plin

Awards: 10
Contributions 2011 (1) Contributions 2012 (1) Contributions 2013 (1) Contributions 2014 (1) Contributions 2015 (1)
Contributions 2016 (1) Contributions 2017 (1) Contributions 2018 (1) MMO Annual Award 2016 (1) MMO Top Tester (1)

Postby geezer » Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:08 pm

Ed,

I was suffering the same issue with the brakes on my 67 Morris Minor. I tried several solutions and none were satisfactory. I finally converted to disc brakes. Much better for today's traffic. Here's a link to a discussion on disc brakes.

viewtopic.php?f=32&t=10592