Stripped rocker pedestal nut

Side valve, 803, 948, 1098., 1275 and Vizard mods

Stripped rocker pedestal nut

Postby mark wilson » Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:49 pm

I've rebuilt a Midget 1275 engine, with a brand new Mini Mpi head and all new studs and nuts. Started torquing down the head in the normal sequence, got to the final round of tightening and one of the short rocker pillar studs stripped before I got to 25 ft.lb. The UNF upper part, not the UNC thread into the head. Decided to carry on with the sequence and deal with the damaged stud later, but got to the second short rocker stud and the same happened. I've now slackened all nuts off and will have to get two new studs.

Have I done anything wrong? I've used new plain washers, then spring washers, then new nuts. I've tightened the inner rocker studs in sequence with the outers, using 40 ft lb on the head studs and 25 ft lb for the inners. Nuts all threaded on carefully by hand, no crossed threads.

I'm no expert, but I've changed about half a dozen a series heads before without problems.

Mark
mark wilson

United Kingdom (uk)

Re: Stripped rocker pedestal nut

Postby Panky » Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:17 pm

Where the threads dry? The studs could have been on there way out anyway due to being over-tightened in the past. Might as well get a full set of studs and nuts to be safe.
Panky

United Kingdom (uk) UK England (.g)

Postby The vast minority » Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:27 am

Sounds like cheap studs to me.
Or a torque wrench problem
The vast minority

Awards: 4
Contributions 2014 (1) Contributions 2015 (1) Contributions 2016 (1) Contributions 2017 (1)

United Kingdom (uk)

Postby mark wilson » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:53 am

The studs, nuts and washers were a complete new set from Minispares, not particularly cheap. The torque wrench was calibrated professionally two years ago, but before I bought it second hand. I've not had any reason to doubt it so far, certainly feels about right.